How can we help you?

Location information for your Scoop trips

  • Updated

In order for Scoop to validate any promotions, discounts, or cash outs for Riders and Drivers, we please ask that you enable location information for each Scoop trip.

How do you do that? 

It’s simple! First, enable location permissions for Scoop through your phone’s settings. For iOS, you can read more on how to do that here. For Android, here are instructions for a few of the top devices: Nexus and Galaxy.

Then, right before and during your trip, be sure to open the Scoop app (it can be in the background). We will not be able to validate your trip if the app is closed.

Why is enabling location information during your trips so important?

  • Validate trips: Scoop uses location information to validate trip accuracy for promotions, incentives, and confirming all transactions.
  • Safety: Location information for each trip allows us to ensure the safety of each Driver and Rider as they commute to work. Safety is our top priority!
  • Improving Scoop routes: Our team reviews travel paths taken and how long each trip takes to improve our matching algorithm and keep delivering a better experience for commuters.
  • Rider experience: For the best Rider experience, Riders look to the Scoop map to see the location of their Drivers. When your Scoop app is closed, this information is not available to the Rider.

We’re thrilled to offer a better alternative to driving alone, and the location requirements above allow us to offer the best experience for all of our commuters.

A note about privacy: Your privacy is incredibly important to us. Location information is never collected outside the time immediately before and during your trips. Location information is never shared outside of Scoop. For more information visit the Scoop Privacy Policy.

Was this article helpful?

7 out of 9 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.