As a Driver, if you are matched in a 3-person carpool, you may choose to remove one of your Riders, rather than cancel the entire carpool.
To do so, navigate to the Matched view for the particular carpool in the app. You can remove a Rider for one of two reasons:
- The route for the Rider is undesirable
- The Rider has let you know they can no longer make the carpool or you can’t find the Rider during pick-up
To remove a Rider from the carpool, tap “Remove”, which will allow you to select which Rider you want to remove.
After tapping “Remove” for the Rider you want to remove, you can then select “Rider is too far off my route” or “Rider can’t make it“/” I can’t find the Rider”.
If you are removing the Rider with “Rider is too far off my route”, you will be able to set your route preferences for this Rider and create a route block. You can then choose to still take the carpool with the Rider this time, or remove the Rider from the carpool. You will not be charged a cancellation fee if you remove a Rider from your carpool due to route.
If your Rider has let you know that they can no longer make the carpool, you can remove them with “Rider can’t make it”. You will be asked to provide a brief description of why you want to remove the Rider.
Once the trip nears, if you are unable to find your Rider during the scheduled pickup time, you will have the option to select ”I can’t find the Rider” and remove them.
From the Matched view, you will be able to see that the Rider you removed is greyed out. There will be a banner that reads “You removed this Rider”. If you removed the Rider using “Rider can’t make it” or “I can’t find the Rider”, you will be able to place a personal block on the Rider by tapping the banner and toggling “Don’t match me with this carpooler”.
The cancellation policy applies to removals. Read more here: What is Scoop's cancellation policy?